Focused Nutrition recalls Choc Chip Flapjack because of incorrect labelling

8 October 2019

Focused Nutrition is recalling its Choc Chip Flapjacks because it contains oats (gluten) and soya, which is not clearly legible on the label and may contain milk, nuts, peanuts and sulphites. This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with coeliac disease or an allergy or intolerance to oats or gluten and/or an allergy to nuts, peanuts or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents, and/or a sensitivity to sulphur dioxide and/or sulphites.

Product details

Focused Nutrition Choc Chip Flapjack
Pack size: 100g

Batch Code: 223
Best Before: 31/03/2020

Batch Code: 244 
Best Before: 14/04/2020

Batch Code: 272
Best Before: 05/05/2020

Batch Code: 281
Best Before: 12/05/2020

Batch Code: 285
Best Before: 19/05/2020

Batch Code: 301
Best Before: 26/05/2020

Batch Code: 335
Best Before: 23/06/2020

Batch Code: 244 
Best Before: 14/04/2020

Batch Code: 352
Best Before: 30/06/2020

No other Focused Nutrition products are known to be affected.

Risk statement

This product contains oats (gluten) and soya, which is not clearly legible on the label and may contain milk, nuts, peanuts and sulphites. This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with coeliac disease or an allergy or intolerance to oats or gluten and/or an allergy to nuts, peanuts or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents, and/or a sensitivity to sulphur dioxide and/or sulphites.

Action taken by the company

Focused Nutrition is recalling the above product from customers and has been advised to contact the relevant allergy support organisations, which will tell their members about the recall. The company has also issued a point-of-sale notice to its customers. These notices explain to customers why the product is/products are being recalled and tell them what to do if they have bought the product.

Customer notice: Choc Chip Flapjack

Our advice to consumers

If you have bought the above product and coeliac disease or an allergy or intolerance to oats or gluten and/or an allergy to nuts, peanuts or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents, and/or a sensitivity to sulphur dioxide and/or sulphites, do not eat it. Instead return it to the store from where it was bought for a full refund.

 

Back to news listings