Statement from Johnson & Johnson on gluten status of Calpol
29 January 2018
Please see below a statement from Johnson & Johnson regarding the gluten status of Calpol.
We’ve done our best to get more clarity in response to our member queries but unfortunately J&J will not make a positive gluten free claim on this product as we would like them to do.
However, given the information they’ve provided to us, we believe the risk is very low – there are no gluten containing ingredients and the volume ingested is very low.
But, we understand for parents who are giving this product to their children, they may feel that any risk is too high in which case we recommend they discuss their concerns with their healthcare team. You may also want to make your concerns known to Calpol direct on 01344 864042 or via their online consumer enquiries form: https://goo.gl/LL9i79
We are exploring other avenues to try and get a more definitive outcome and will keep you informed of any progress.
Johnson & Johnson statement:
Whilst Calpol suspensions do not contain wheat flour or wheat starch, all Calpol suspensions contain a small amount of the excipient* xanthan gum. Xanthan gum is derived from fermented pharmaceutical grade wheat starch and is frequently used in the gluten free food industry as a thickener or stabilizer. Due to the fermentation process it is generally accepted to be suitable for most people with coeliac disease.
However as we do not carry out final product testing for gluten in our products, we cannot exclude the possibility that trace amounts of gluten may be present within Calpol suspensions. Should you have any further concerns about the suitability of any Calpol Suspension product we suggest that you discuss this matter with your health care professional, as they are best placed to advise you.
*excipient: a substance, such as sugar or gum, used to prepare a drug or drugs in a form suitable for administration (Collins English Dictionary, HarperCollins Publishers).