Why is Barleycup listed in the Food and Drink Guide?

All the Barleycup beverages are gluten free and are licensed with our Crossed Grain symbol.

Barleycup is made using a unique process that includes extracting a liquid that is then free from gluten. The extraction process involves washing the ingredients so that the water soluble ingredients separate from the roasted raw materials and the non soluble ones, such as gluten. The gluten is retained in post extraction waste. The extracted liquid is then dried and used either as a powder or granules.

The products are regularly tested by an accredited laboratory to ensure that the gluten levels do not exceed 10 parts per million (ppm). The law on gluten free requires gluten free products to contain no more than 20 ppm gluten.

All frequently asked questions