Member login

Not a Member?

Site logo

  1. Your location: Home
  2. Frequently Asked Questions
  3. Why isn’t Marmite listed in the Food...

Why isn’t Marmite listed in the Food & Drink Directory?

Why isn’t Marmite listed in the Food & Drink Directory?

Although it was suitable in the past, Marmite is no longer suitable for a gluten-free diet as it contains slightly more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

Yeast extract (which Marmite is made from) can be made as a by product of bread, wine and beer making. Although the ingredient and manufacturing processes have not changed, recent information received from the makers of Marmite indicates that despite thorough washing, it contains slightly more than the 20 ppm gluten standard, now defined by law.

If in the past you have included Marmite in your gluten free diet, it is highly unlikely that it will have been harmful as it is usually only consumed in small amounts.

You can contact the Unilever Careline on 0800 010 109 directly if you would like to speak to someone about the suitability of Marmite.

Please see our Food and Drink Directory for alternative yeast extract products which are suitable for a gluten free diet.

Yeast extract products which are suitable are listed in the 2017 Food & Drink Directory on pages 253, 288, 304 and 314.

More on this subject

All frequently asked questions

Helpline
0333 332 2033
Share this page

Facebook Twitter

Show Footer Menu