Questions related to: Which foods are listed in Section 1?

Found 9

Why do you not have barcodes for all products listed in the Directory?

Since the development of our mobile app, barcodes have become an important piece of information to ensure that the scanning function works. Manufacturers and retailers with online shops list all their products, not just gluten-free ones, including the barcode information with Brandbank. We have been working with Brandbank to increase the number of products listed in the directory and the percentage with barcodes. By using this data we have been able to increase the number of products listed in the 2015 directory by 50% and the number of products with barcodes to 97%.

Can I drink spirits?

Cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs are gluten free.

Experts agree that there is no physical way that pure distilled alcohol can contain gluten - this is because the gluten protein cannot travel through to the vapour produced by the prolonged heating in the distillation process and become part of the final alcohol product.

Distilled spirits only contain gluten if gluten containing ingredients are added after the distillation process and in this case, there is labelling legislation that ensures the product states CONTAINS wheat, barley, rye or oats on the label.

Why isn’t Marmite listed in the Food & Drink Guide?

Although it was suitable in the past, since 2016 Marmite is no longer suitable for a gluten free diet as it contains more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

Yeast extract (which Marmite is made from) can be made as a by product of bread, wine and beer making. Although the ingredient and manufacturing processes have not changed, recent information received from the makers of Marmite indicates that despite thorough washing, it contains slightly more than the 20 ppm gluten standard, now defined by law.

If in the past you have included Marmite in your gluten free diet, it is highly unlikely that it will have been harmful as it is usually only consumed in small amounts.

You can contact the Unilever Careline on 0800 010 109 directly if you would like to speak to someone about the suitability of Marmite.

Please see our Food and Drink Information or our app for alternative yeast extract products which are suitable for a gluten free diet.

Welsh Assembly Member and Coeliac UK Governor Dai Lloyd asked the Cabinet Secretary for Health, Well-being and Sport for a statement on gluten-free prescriptions. What was the response?

Vaughan Gething AM said:

Gluten-free products are an essential part of the clinical treatment of coeliac disease. National prescribing guidance was published in 2013 to support healthcare professionals in the management of patients with coeliac disease. Coeliac UK has supported the development of the guidance including the updated version published in March 2016.

Read in more detail at:

30 June 2017

www.assembly.wales/en/bus-home/pages/plenaryitem.aspx?category=written%20question&itemid=3431&c=Written%20Question&startDt=24/05/2017&endDt=30/06/2017

13 July 2016

www.assembly.wales/en/bus-home/pages/qnr.aspx?meetingid=3617&assembly=5&c=Record%20of%20Proceedings

What does this mean for Scotland/Wales/Northern Ireland?

There are currently no proposals to amend services in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland. The consultation only covers England.

How do I find out where I can buy gluten-free communion wafers?

You can find a list of communion wafer suppliers here.

Why aren’t some manufacturers or brands listed in the Guide?

We have endeavoured to increase the number of products and manufacturers listed in this year’s Food and Drink Guide by contacting over 200 manufacturers and sourcing product information from a third party, Brandbank. By changing the way we collect the information for the Guide we are pleased to list over 20,000 products. If you can’t find a particular brand in the Guide this may be because they have not provided us with information and have not provided information to Brandbank. It might also be because the product contains gluten.

If you are unsure whether you can eat a particular product you can check the label. For more information on reading labels please visit www.coeliac.org.uk/labels.

Can I eat barley malt vinegar?

Yes.

Barley malt vinegar is made from barley and is found in pickles, chutneys and some sauces. If it is used in a food product the manufacturer must list the word ‘barley’ in the ingredients list in line with EU wide allergen labelling law. 

Barley malt vinegar is made using a fermentation process. This means that the amount of barley, and therefore gluten, in the end product is extremely small and is well below a level which is safe for people with coeliac disease. In addition, barley malt vinegar is usually only eaten in small amounts, for example, drained pickled vegetables, sauces with a meal or on chips.

Balsamic, cider, sherry, spirit, white wine and red wine vinegar are not made from barley and can also be included in your gluten free diet.

Can I eat whey powder?

Whey is produced from milk and does not contain gluten.

Page 1 of 7

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Back

All frequently asked questions