Questions related to: Can I eat barley malt vinegar?
Why do you not have barcodes for all products listed in the Directory?
Since the development of our mobile app, barcodes have become an important piece of information to ensure that the scanning function works. Manufacturers and retailers with online shops list all their products, not just gluten-free ones, including the barcode information with Brandbank. We have been working with Brandbank to increase the number of products listed in the directory and the percentage with barcodes. By using this data we have been able to increase the number of products listed in the 2015 directory by 50% and the number of products with barcodes to 97%.
Can I drink spirits?
Cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs are gluten free.
Experts agree that there is no physical way that pure distilled alcohol can contain gluten - this is because the gluten protein cannot travel through to the vapour produced by the prolonged heating in the distillation process and become part of the final alcohol product.
Distilled spirits only contain gluten if gluten containing ingredients are added after the distillation process and in this case, there is labelling legislation that ensures the product states CONTAINS wheat, barley, rye or oats on the label.
If I can’t get gluten free food on prescription will I have to eat gluten containing foods and make myself ill?
We understand how difficult it might be to manage without prescriptions. Gluten free staple foods like bread are key products in managing the diet from both a nutritional and practical standpoint so more care will be needed.
We are trying to make it easier by providing advice for managing a gluten free diet on a budget.
Why aren’t some manufacturers or brands listed in the Guide?
We have endeavoured to increase the number of products and manufacturers listed in this year’s Food and Drink Guide by contacting over 200 manufacturers and sourcing product information from a third party, Brandbank. By changing the way we collect the information for the Guide we are pleased to list over 20,000 products. If you can’t find a particular brand in the Guide this may be because they have not provided us with information and have not provided information to Brandbank. It might also be because the product contains gluten.
If you are unsure whether you can eat a particular product you can check the label. For more information on reading labels please visit www.coeliac.org.uk/labels.
Welsh Assembly Member and Coeliac UK Governor Dai Lloyd asked the Cabinet Secretary for Health, Well-being and Sport for a statement on gluten-free prescriptions. What was the response?
Vaughan Gething AM said:
Gluten-free products are an essential part of the clinical treatment of coeliac disease. National prescribing guidance was published in 2013 to support healthcare professionals in the management of patients with coeliac disease. Coeliac UK has supported the development of the guidance including the updated version published in March 2016.
Read in more detail at:
30 June 2017
13 July 2016
What does this mean for Scotland/Wales/Northern Ireland?
There are currently no proposals to amend services in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland. The consultation only covers England.
Which foods are listed in Section 1?
Section 1 lists foods that are gluten free. They contain gluten at a level of no more than 20 parts per million (ppm). Products listed here comply with the law (European Regulation EU 828/2014). Foods in this section are tested to make sure they are gluten free.
You will find the following types of foods in Section 1:
- specialist, substitute foods:
- foods carrying the Coeliac UK Crossed Grain symbol
- some mainstream foods that are labelled gluten free.
- on prescription
- in the Free From section of the supermarket
How do I find out where I can buy gluten-free communion wafers?
You can find a list of communion wafer suppliers here.
Can I eat whey powder?
Whey is produced from milk and does not contain gluten.