Questions related to: Can I eat barley malt vinegar?

Found 9

Which foods are listed in Section 2?

Section 2 listed foods made without gluten-containing ingredients and the manufacturers have controls in place to minimise the risk of cross contamination with gluten-containing ingredients.

You will find the following types of foods in Section 2:

  • Everyday foods you find on the supermarket shelves such as soups, sauces and ready meals made without gluten containing ingredients
  • Supermarket own brand foods.

Can I eat any of Kellogg’s breakfast cereals?

Kellogg’s regular cereals contain barley malt extract as a flavouring at a level which is above the safe level for people with coeliac disease. Kellogg’s gluten-free cereals are listed in the Food and Drink Information Service.

A number of supermarket own brand breakfast cereals which contain much less of the barley malt extract and can be included in your gluten-free diet are also listed here. If a product is labelled gluten-free and contains barley malt extract, the product will contain no more than 20 ppm gluten and can be included in a gluten-free diet.

Can I eat foods in both sections?

Yes. Whilst the products listed in Section 2 are not labelled gluten free, the products are made without gluten containing ingredients and the manufacturers have made a risk assessment on cross contamination and have steps to control this.

If products in Section 1 contain 20 parts per million or less of gluten, what is the level of foods in Section 2?

We do not have gluten levels for the products in Section 2. The products in Section 2 are not specialist products and the manufacturers do not provide test results. They do not contain any gluten in the ingredients list. Manufacturers follow advice from the Food Standards Agency on assessing and managing the risk of cross contamination with allergens including gluten containing cereals.

If you are unsure whether you can eat a particular product you can check the label. For more information on reading labels please visit www.coeliac.org.uk/labels.

 

What should I do if a product I have bought contains gluten although it is listed in the Food and Drink Guide?

Manufacturers sometimes change their ingredients without notifying us. Please contact us on 0333 332 2033 and select option 2 so that we can investigate. To be able to investigate your query we will require the following information: brand and product name, pack size, barcode number and the nature of your query e.g. may contain statement, contains wheat etc.

 

Why aren’t Booths, Budgens, Iceland and Lidl listed in this year’s Directory?

We don’t have information on own brand products from Booths, Budgens, Iceland or Lidl.  If you would like information on the gluten free products sold in these supermarkets, please contact their customer services team directly. If you are unsure whether you can eat a particular product you can check the label. For more information on reading labels please visit www.coeliac.org.uk/labels.

Booths
0800 221 8707
www.booths.co.uk

Budgens
0800 298 0758
www.budgens.co.uk

Iceland
0800 328 0800
www.iceland.co.uk

Lidl
0800 977 7766
www.lidl.co.uk

What is gluten-free (Codex) wheat starch?

Gluten free wheat starch, also known as Codex wheat starch, is a specially produced ingredient where the gluten has been removed to a trace level. It is used by some manufacturers to improve the quality and texture of gluten free products. It must always appear in the ingredients list if it has been used. 

Foods containing Codex wheat starch that are labelled gluten free are suitable for all people with coeliac disease. In the past, the Codex standard for labelling for gluten free foods was 200 parts per million, a level that people with coeliac disease could not always tolerate. The law on gluten free must contain no more than 20 ppm. This means that gluten free foods that contain Codex wheat starch should no longer cause a problem for people with coeliac disease. 

Foods that contain Codex wheat starch are highlighted with a blue triangle in the Food and Drink Guide.

If you should have any concern about including products with Codex wheat starch in your diet please speak with your health professional. 

 

How much does the Gluten Free Food Checker app cost?

You do not need to pay for the app as it is included within your existing Membership fee.

Where are fast foods listed now?

We no longer list fast food restaurants in the Food and Drink Guide. We have a separate resource, the Venue Guide, which lists restaurants that are able to cater for people with coeliac disease. Visit www.coeliac.org.uk/venueguide

Allergen information for McDonalds and Burger King can be found on their websites.

Back

All frequently asked questions