Why isn’t all chocolate gluten-free?
Not all chocolate can be included in your gluten-free diet, even if gluten isn’t listed as a deliberate ingredient on the ingredients list. This is because some different brands of chocolate carry ‘may contain’ statements, meaning the manufacturer has decided that there is a risk that the product could be contaminated with gluten.
How to choose safe gluten-free chocolate products
With this in mind, it’s important that you carefully select your chocolate products to make sure they are gluten-free and safe for your diet. We have a wide range of chocolate listed in our Food and Drink Directory under the Confectionery and Supermarket chapters.
Some chocolate products listed in the Directory have ‘may contain’ statements on the packaging. However, these products will be fine to include in your gluten-free diet. This is because the manufacturers of these products have given us information – including details on their processes which include extensive clean down and analysis of the final product – and have confirmed that they are safe for the gluten-free diet.
Coeliac UK produces lists of chocolates that are suitable for a gluten-free diet at Easter and Christmas, check back for these.
Cooking with gluten-free chocolate
Looking for ideas for an edible present? Why not try making some no cook chocolate truffles. These are simple and easy to make and taste delicious.
Cocoa powder is gluten-free but hot chocolate powders, chocolate sprinkles and toppings for cappuccinos need to be checked. We list a range of hot chocolate drinks that are suitable for a gluten-free diet in our Food and Drink Directory under the Drinks, Food Service and Catering and supermarket chapters.