Food and drink queries

Required Field *

If you have any queries regarding food and drink products please complete the form below.

 

By pressing submit you confirm that you have read and understood our privacy policy and that you are happy to be contacted by Coeliac UK relating to the purpose of your request. Our commitment to you is that we will respect any personal data you share with us, and keep it safe.

Food and drink queries

Case capture powered by workbooks.com

Please click the box to indicate you are a human rather than an automated system completing this form.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I find out what foods I can eat?

We publish an annual Food and Drink Guide which lists thousands of foods you can eat, and a Gluten-free Checklist which are free to Members. You can order publications from our online shop.

I've noticed that 'barley malt extract' is on the ingredients list of a breakfast cereal which is listed in the Food and Drink Information. Can I eat it?

There are a number of supermarket own brand breakfast cereals which contain a very small amount of barley malt extract. They are tested to make sure that they only contain a level of gluten which can be included in a gluten free diet (20 parts per million or less). Some retailers have their own Free From breakfast cereals too. These are listed on our online Food and Drink Information

Can I eat breakfast cereals with barley malt extract in them?

There are a number of supermarket own brand breakfast cereals which contain a very small amount of barley malt extract. They are tested to make sure that they only contain a level of gluten which can be included in a gluten-free diet (20 parts per million or less). Some retailers have their own Free From breakfast cereals too. These are listed on our Food and Drink Information Service.

If a product is labelled gluten-free and contains barley malt extract, the product will contain no more than 20 ppm gluten and can be included in a gluten-free diet.

Can I eat oats?

Oats do not contain gluten. They contain a similar protein called avenin and research has shown that most people with coeliac disease can safely eat avenin.

The main problem with a lot of the oats and oat products that you find in the supermarket is that they are very often contaminated with gluten from wheat, rye or barley during processing (such as harvesting or milling). Therefore, oats that are NOT labelled as gluten free should always be avoided.

Many specialist manufacturers now produce gluten free oats. 

If you have an ongoing symptoms or any concerns about including gluten free oats in your diet, please speak to your health professional.  

What is gluten-free (Codex) wheat starch?

Gluten free wheat starch, also known as Codex wheat starch, is a specially produced ingredient where the gluten has been removed to a trace level. It is used by some manufacturers to improve the quality and texture of gluten free products. It must always appear in the ingredients list if it has been used. 

Foods containing Codex wheat starch that are labelled gluten free are suitable for all people with coeliac disease. In the past, the Codex standard for labelling for gluten free foods was 200 parts per million, a level that people with coeliac disease could not always tolerate. The law on gluten free must contain no more than 20 ppm. This means that gluten free foods that contain Codex wheat starch should no longer cause a problem for people with coeliac disease. 

Foods that contain Codex wheat starch are highlighted with a blue triangle in the Food and Drink Guide.

If you should have any concern about including products with Codex wheat starch in your diet please speak with your health professional. 

 

What alcohol can I drink?

Cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs are gluten free.

All spirits are distilled during the manufacturing process, so even when a cereal that contains gluten as an ingredient is used, this process removes any trace of gluten. Therefore, all spirit drinks (including malt whisky which is made from barley) are safe for people with coeliac disease.

Beer, lagers, stouts and ales contain varying amounts of gluten and are not suitable if you have coeliac disease, but specially manufactured gluten free beers are available. You can find a list of these in the ‘Drinks’ section of your Food and Drink Guide, or, if you are a member, on our online Food and Drink Information and our Gluten Free Food Checker app.

There are two types of gluten free beer – naturally gluten free and gluten reduced. For both types, by law, manufacturers can only label their beer gluten free if it contains 20 ppm or less of gluten (the legal definition of gluten free). In addition, a beer made from barley must, by allergen labelling law, state on the labelling that it ‘contains barley.’  You can find out more about how gluten free beer is made and tested by clicking here.

Please remember that alcohol can have side effects whether or not you have coeliac disease. Check out Drink Aware for more information: www.drinkaware.co.uk

This advice has been discussed and continues to be approved by Coeliac UK’s Food Standards Committee, April 2020. 

 

 

I've heard spelt is suitable for people with coeliac disease. Is this true?

No. Spelt is an ancient strain of wheat and contains gluten. It is not suitable for people with coeliac disease.

Is Chinese soy sauce gluten free?

No. Chinese soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, which makes it unsuitable for people with coeliac disease. If wheat flour has been used as an ingredient, this must be listed on the ingredients list. Gluten free versions are available in the 'Free From' section of most major supermarkets. There are also some types of tamari soy sauce which are suitable. These are listed on our online Food and Drink Information Service.

 

Can I eat yeast?

Fresh yeast is naturally gluten free. We are now aware of some brands of dried yeasts that now contain wheat starch in the ingredients so they are not gluten free. We therefore now list dried yeasts on our Food and Drink Information Service that do not contain gluten.

 

Can I eat whey powder?

Whey is produced from milk and does not contain gluten.

Can I eat glucose syrup?

Glucose syrup is gluten free. It can be derived from wheat, however the production methods involve a high level of hydrolysation, meaning there is no significant gluten content in the sugars.

The final ingredient is gluten free and foods with glucose syrups can be eaten by people with coeliac disease.

Can I eat maltodextrin?

Maltodextrin is gluten-free. It can be made from a variety of cereal starches including wheat, corn (maize), tapioca and rice. Despite the name, maltodextrins are not produced from, nor do they contain barley malt. Even when maltodextrin has been made from wheat, the grain is processed to remove the gluten.

Can I eat dextrose?

Dextrose is gluten free. It can be made from wheat but the production methods involve a high level of hydrolysation, which means that no gluten is left in the sugars. The final ingredient is gluten free and dextrose can be eaten by people with coeliac disease.

Can I eat monosodium glutamate (MSG)?

Monosodium glutamate (MSG) is gluten free. It is a flavour enhancer used in many manufactured foods and can be made from wheat; however, during processing the wheat protein is completely hydrolysed (broken down) and can be eaten by people with coeliac disease.

 

Can I eat communion wafers?

Wheat, a cereal that contains gluten, is the only substance authorised by the Roman Catholic Church to make Eucharistic bread.

There are special ‘low gluten’ hosts that have been approved for use by individuals with coeliac disease when taking Communion. These products contain Codex wheat starch, but are within the levels for labelling gluten free. Other churches allow communion wafers to be taken which are made entirely from gluten free ingredients and often suppliers will sell two different varieties.

A number of companies produce communion wafers that are suitable for people with coeliac disease. These are often available via mail order. Please see our communion wafer list for a full list of suppliers and the wafers available. Before ordering as an individual it is worth talking to your church as their usual church supplier can sometimes order these for you and minimise delivery charges.

To reduce the risk of contamination with gluten from gluten containing hosts, we would advise that your communion wafers are stored and presented separately. Some people may prefer to abstain from taking communion in the conventional way and have a blessing instead.

I’m confused by the ‘very low gluten’ label. Can I eat foods labelled as this?

Foods labelled ‘very low gluten’ have to be between 21 and 100 part per million gluten. This can only apply to specialist foods made for people with coeliac disease and we are not seeing this label in use in the UK. This level is suitable for most people with coeliac disease but if you are particularly sensitive, it may not be right for you.