Member login

Not a Member?

Site logo

  1. Your location: Home
  2. Frequently Asked Questions
  3. Why aren’t Walkers crisps listed in the...

Why aren’t Walkers crisps listed in the Food and Drink Directory?

Why aren’t Walkers crisps listed in the Food and Drink Directory?

Walkers cannot guarantee that any of their crisps are suitable for people following a gluten-free diet.

The law on gluten-free labelling means a strict criteria has to be met if manufacturers want to indicate the suitability of their foods for people with coeliac disease.

In order to label ‘gluten-free’ or ‘suitable for coeliacs’ products would have to ensure that they contain no more than 20 parts per million gluten. As Walkers cannot meet this requirement, they have removed their ‘suitable for coeliacs’ label. In addition, they have added an advisory statement on packs that states that the crisp products have been made in a factory where there are gluten-containing ingredients.

You can contact Walkers directly for more information by calling their careline on 0800 980 8235.

More on this subject

All frequently asked questions

Helpline
0333 332 2033
Share this page

Facebook Twitter

Show Footer Menu
EV SSL