We have updated our privacy policy. Learn more...

Dismiss message

FAQ

Why is the word oats emphasised in the ingredients list of a product that is also labelled gluten-free?

The Food Information Regulation specifies that cereals containing gluten, including oats, must be emphasised in the ingredients list as they are one of the 14 allergens. The gluten-free label means that the product does not contain more than 20 ppm gluten, and when a gluten-containing grain like oats is listed in the ingredients list the level of gluten in the final product will be in line with the law on gluten-free.

All frequently asked questions