Member login

Not a Member?

Site logo

  1. Your location: Home
  2. Frequently Asked Questions
  3. What is gluten-free (Codex) wheat starch?

What is gluten-free (Codex) wheat starch?

What is gluten-free (Codex) wheat starch?

Gluten-free wheat starch, also known as Codex wheat starch, is a specially produced ingredient where the gluten has been removed to a trace level.

This type of wheat starch is used as an ingredient by some manufacturers who produce gluten-free food on prescription. It was first introduced as a basis for staple gluten-free substitute foods like flour and bread to improve their quality and texture making it more like the varieties which contain gluten. It must always appear in the ingredients list if it has been used.

Foods containing gluten-free/Codex wheat starch that are labelled gluten-free are suitable for all people with coeliac disease. In the past, the Codex standard for labelling gluten-free foods was 200 parts per million (ppm), a level that people with coeliac disease could not always tolerate. The law on gluten-free that came into force in 2012 means that all foods that are labelled gluten-free must contain no more than 20 ppm.

People with coeliac disease can eat foods labelled gluten-free in unlimited amounts. This means that gluten-free foods that contain gluten-free/Codex wheat starch should no longer cause a problem for people with coeliac disease.

As an individual, if you should have any concerns we would recommend that you discuss them with your GP, dietitian or gastroenterologist who can provide you with ongoing support and advice. Foods that contain gluten-free/Codex wheat starch are highlighted in the Food and Drink Directory with a blue triangle.

More on this subject

All frequently asked questions

Helpline
0333 332 2033
Share this page

Facebook Twitter

Show Footer Menu
EV SSL