We have updated our privacy policy. Learn more...

Dismiss message

Barley malt extract

Widely used in a food as a flavour enhancer. It depends on the quantity used as to whether or not it can be included in a gluten free diet. If a product is labelled gluten free and contains barley malt extract, the product will contain no more than 20 ppm gluten and can be included in a gluten free diet. If you are unsure, please get in touch with Foodanddrink@coeliac.org.uk or our helpline 0333 332 2033.

Return to page