We have updated our privacy policy. Learn more...

Dismiss message

What types of yeast are gluten free?

  • Yeast is a type of fungus
  • Used in food for its savoury, umami flavour
  • Yeast is naturally gluten free

Yeast is a fungus and there are many different kinds, there is even one that lives in your own body. Yeast can also be used in food, some are naturally gluten free and some you'll need to check the ingredients list to make sure it's suitable for a gluten free diet. Here are three main types of yeast found in food and whether you can eat them on a gluten free diet.

Food Information Yeast Extract

Yeast extract

Yeast extract, we're told we either love it or hate it. But can you eat it if you are on a gluten free diet? It depends how it is made and what it is made from. The most common brand in the UK of yeast extract is Marmite which is not suitable as it contains more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

There are other brands of yeast extract which are suitable for a gluten free diet and they can be found in our Food and Drink Directory, search "yeast extract". 

 
Fresh Yeast

Fresh yeast is naturally gluten free. It can be found in some bakeries and retailer in store bakeries though we would recommend speaking to the bakery staff within the store to understand if the natural yeast has any possible cross contamination as it is often used in the same environment as gluten containing flour. It is used mainly for baking bread and some cakes. 

Dried Yeast

Dried yeast, or also known as quick or easy yeast again is naturally gluten free, however some manufacturers include wheat flour or wheat starch, therefore making it unsuitable. Please check the label of the packaging or use our online Food and Drink Directory to search for suitable dried yeasts. 

Return to main Food and Drink Information