We have updated our privacy policy. Learn more...

Dismiss message

Dinner Parties

Have you planned a dinner party and just found out that one of your guests has coeliac disease? Don’t panic! There are some simple ways you can adjust the food you’re cooking to suit someone who is on a gluten free diet. 

  • Lots of dishes are gluten free.
  • Speak to the guest as they will know what they can and can't have.
  • Find out more about the gluten free diet.

What should I cook?

When you've had a think about what to cook,  a lot of the time a few simple changes can make a dish suitable for a gluten free diet. All plain meat and vegetables are naturally gluten free, you need to check ingredients such as stock cubes and seasonings, pre bought sauces, and processed vegetable products like frozen chips. Reading food product labels will tell you whether they are safe for your guest, avoid words that are emphasised that say wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten. Here's some naturally gluten free ideas.

Starters

  • Soup
  • Risotto
  • Terrine
  • Salads

Mains

  • Chilli con carne with rice
  • Shepherds pie with seasonal vegetables
  • Curry with rice (no naan bread)
  • Grilled fish with salad (no croutons)
  • Steak or gammon and chips

Puds

  • Eton mess
  • Fruit salad
  • Crème brûlée
  • Ice cream

The list doesn't stop there there are so many more, search our Home of Gluten Free Recipes.

Have a look in the free from section of your supermarket for foods such as gluten free pasta, crackers and bread that you may want to serve with your meal. There will usually be a wide range of cakes and biscuits, as well as ingredients such as gluten free flour and bread mixes. Speak to your guest about your menu and whether it is suitable or not. Your guest will feel much happier if they have been asked about anything you are not sure of. 

If you are unsure about cooking everything yourself, why not ask all your guests to bring one or two dishes?

When cooking your meals, it is important to keep your gluten free ingredients separate from other ingredients. Find out how to avoid cross contamination.

Are all drinks okay?

In short, no. But there are plenty of both alcoholic and soft drinks that don’t contain gluten. Cider, wine, sparkling wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs are all gluten free and suitable for people with coeliac disease. 

Beer, lagers, stouts and ales contain varying amounts of gluten and are therefore not safe for people on a gluten free diet. You can buy specially made gluten free beers and lagers, and these are usually found in free from section of the supermarket and some health food stores. Fruit juice, flavoured waters, cordials and fizzy drinks are okay to have. Barley squashes are not suitable. 

If in doubt, call our Helpline on 0333 332 2033. We can give you advice on ingredients you can use and tips on reading labels.

Last of all, enjoy your dinner party and if you are worried about any of the ingredients do check with your guest. They will often know straight away about different makes of ingredients and be able to help you if you are unsure.

Return to Home of Gluten Free Recipes

Search recipes
Filter by