Do I need to label gluten-free on my menu?
There is no legal requirement to do so. However, as with vegetarian food, it is very helpful for your customers to be able to easily see what is gluten-free. Any changes in recipes and ingredients may change the suitability of the menu choice, so menu labelling will need to be kept up to date.
The best way to show that your menu is gluten-free is to apply for Coeliac UK accreditation which enables you to use our trademarked symbols on your menu, website and marketing materials. More information on accrediting your business can be found on our accreditation page.
Food businesses must provide allergen information for the meals they serve. This means if a recipe uses cereals containing gluten such as wheat, rye, barley or oats in the ingredients, they must provide this information. Read more about the changes to food information provision from December 2014.