Questions related to: Can I eat foods in both sections?
We now provide product information and it's suitability on over 100,000 gluten free and mainstream products by contacting over 200 manufacturers and sourcing product information from a third party, Brandbank, If you can't find a particular brand within our services this may be because they have not provided us with information and have not provide information to Brandbank. It might also be because the product contains gluten.
If you are unsure whether you can eat particular product you can check the label. For more information on reading labels why not check out labelling video that is produced in association with the Food Standard Agency. If the product is suitable then do let us know about it and we can work towards listing on our website and in our Gluten free food checker app.
Beer, lagers, stouts and ales contain varying amounts of gluten and are not suitable if you have coeliac disease. Specially manufactured gluten-free beers are available and are listed in your Food and Drink Guide in the Section 1 Drinks chapter.
It is important to check for updates as products do change and many new products re added throughout the year. Product information on our digital versions are updated in real time however we also provide monthly updates to the Food and Drink Guide and these can be found:
- on our website www.coeliac.org.uk
- by following the links on our monthly email newsletter
- via a 24-hour recorded message on the Membership Helpline 0333 332 2033, selecting option 1
Branston Pickle contains barley malt vinegar, if it is used in a food product the manufacturer must list the word ‘barley’ in the ingredients list in line with European Union wide allergen labelling law.
Barley malt vinegar is made using a fermentation process. This means that the amount of barley, and therefore gluten, in the end product is extremely small and is well below a level which is safe for people with coeliac disease.
Some foods are naturally gluten free. Foods like meat, fish, eggs, fruit and vegetables are all naturally gluten free and so listing these in the Guide would mean the Guide would be unnecessarily large. We list foods on page 6 of the Guide which are naturally gluten free and produce a gluten free checklist which you may find useful. You can download this from the Gluten free diet and lifestyle section of the website. www.coeliac.org.uk/gluten-free-checklist.
Malt extract and malt flavourings are commonly made from barley, although they can be produced from other grains. Barley malt extract is a flavouring often added in small amounts to breakfast cereals and chocolates.
Foods that contain barley malt extract in smaller amounts can be eaten by people with coeliac disease. However, any foods that contain barley malt extract will be labelled as containing barley and you will not be able to tell from the ingredients list how much has been used. Products containing barley malt extract that are labelled gluten free are suitable for people with coeliac disease.
The own brand breakfast cereals listed on our Food and Drink Information are suitable for people with coeliac disease. They contain a very small amount of barley malt extract and are tested to make sure they contain 20 parts per million or less of gluten which is a safe level of gluten for people with coeliac disease. However, because they contain barley malt extract you will see this listed and emphasised in the ingredients list.
If you see barley malt extract in a product that is not listed in the Food and Drink Guide or on our Food and Drink Information Service then contact our Helpline or the manufacturer for more information.
At the moment the app continues to include food and drink information for over 30,000 food and drink products and features a barcode scanner for when you are shopping. However, as part of the improvement to our Food Information Service we will be removing product information from the app in the early part of 2018 and ensuring we provide consistent, reliable and up to date food information across our website, Gluten free food checker app and printed Food and Drink Guide.
Our Gluten free on the Move app will be enhanced to better support you with our Venue Guide when eating out and travelling. And we look forward sharing these improvements with you throughout the year ahead.
Fresh yeast is naturally gluten free. We are now aware of some brands of dried yeasts that now contain wheat starch in the ingredients so they are not gluten free. We therefore now list dried yeasts in the Food & Drink Information Service that do not contain gluten.
We are regularly in touch with these companies but at this time they have been unable to provide us with information on their own brand products. If you would like information on gluten free products sold in these supermarkets, please contact their customer service team directly. If you are unsure whether you can eat a particular product read the ingredients label. For more information on reading labels why not check out our labelling video that is produced with association with the Food Standard Agency.
0800 221 8707
0844 507 5506
0800 328 0800
0800 977 7766
The Crossed Grain symbol is used under licence by companies and organisations on food and drink products which meet our criteria. The symbol is a quick and easy way to identify safe food and drink. We highlight products using the Crossed Grain symbol throughout our Food and Drink Guide.