Member login

Not a Member?

Site logo

  1. Your location: Home
  2. Gluten-free Diet and Lifestyle
  3. Food shopping
  4. The Crossed Grain Symbol

The Crossed Grain Symbol

Our Crossed Grain symbol is a quick and easy way of identifying foods you can eat.

Food products that have the Crossed Grain symbol on the packaging are gluten-free and suitable for people with coeliac disease.

There are different types of licence for the symbol based on where the product is sold and what ingredients are in the product. You can tell what kind of licence the product has by the licence number which will be shown alongside the symbol.

 

Crossed Grain licence UKThis type of licence number shows that the company is based in the UK and is selling their products mostly in the UK. It also shows that the product is gluten-free.

 

 

 

 

Crossed Grain symbolThis type of licence number shows that the product is gluten-free as well as where the company is based. UK companies will have a licence number starting with GB. Companies based in other European countries will have different codes eg BE for Belgium or GR for Greece.

 

 

 

Crossed Grain symbolThis type of licence number shows that the product is gluten-free, where the company is based and that the product contains gluten-free oats.

 

 

 

 

Crossed Grain symbolThis type of licence number shows that the products are gluten-free and sold outside of Europe.

 

 

 

 

Some manufacturers and supermarkets use their own symbol to show that a food is gluten-free. These symbols do not have licence numbers.

If you are a food manufacturer and would like to know how you can use the Crossed Grain symbol on your products, please read more about licensing the Crossed Grain symbol.

See companies that are using the Crossed Grain symbol.

Print page Add to My Scrapbook
Show Footer Menu